That Book/Film Was Just “Boring” For Me | Why You Have To Be Critical In Consuming Content Before Passing Judgment

Hello there allies, archenemies and, everyone in between! 

This post is brought to you by my sudden urge to defend all the books and films I loved that garnered distaste from other people without offering any argument except that it is “boring”.

Today I’ll be sharing to you all my two cents on this particular issue. I personally don’t like it when people cannot justify well their dislike for a certain piece. I respect personal preferences and if they have been triggered by some sensitive content, however, “boring” just doesn’t cut it. Here’s a definitive list as to why being critical before judging a work of art is crucial!

1

Refusal for critical understanding of the content.

Now critical understanding might always be overlooked because most people consume content for their entertainment value. Alongside this, not everybody had access to education on how to be critical of what they consume, so this is more applicable to those who have the privilege but fail to do so.

When confronted with a difficult plot progression or unlikable characters most people will automatically dislike the experience. However, most fail to see the relevance of such and fail to question their existence.

Why does this character have to be perpetually irritating?

Why does the plot have to slow down and speed up in different intervals of the story?

Why does this particular scene be repeated?

What is the purpose of these flat characters?

Why is the build up like this?

Why has the characters developed drastically or minimally?

Where is this dialogue leading to?

Why does this have a disjointed progression?

Questions like these only scratch the surface of fully understanding the context of the content. There are multiple factors in critically reading or watching! What grates on my nerve is that some people just wouldn’t want to dig deeper because it’s either too much work or irrelevant. 

Tell you what, not all forms of art have to cater to what you are used to consuming. Some books and films are deliberately uncomfortable to send a message.

Image result for art has to be uncomfortable
Photo taken from Google.com

If one refuses to engage in this activity, then it simply means that your “boring” comment is just simply another term for your refusal to critically understand what you’re consuming.


Simplicity Over Complexity

Another misconception is that when a story is predictable or simple it’s automatically shunned. While most of the time predictable plots aren’t desirable, it only becomes like that if it isn’t executed properly!

I have read so many books with a predictable storyline but because it has well-developed characters and checks off most of what I’m looking for in a book, it still garnered my love. It’s important to note that simplicity, when executed perfectly, is so much better than complexity without coherency.

Another thing I noticed is that when people are confronted with characters that have a pure sense of justice or righteousness, they’re then perceived as unconvincing. Does a character have to always have a dark past, deep-seated trauma, or experienced an injustice that needed to be avenged before developing into a well-liked hero? SPOILER ALERT: NO. 

Yes, characters with a tragic past are always more appealing but can’t a character simply have the motivation to do the right thing just because it’s what they believe no matter what their situations are?

This is probably why we just love to hate our villains because they have a lot of motivations as opposed to our heroes. However, this should not always be the case! A well fleshed out character doesn’t have to have a complex background all the time but instead, have clear motivations and belief systems. 


Constantly breezing through without valuing the pauses.

We now live in a fast-paced world where every content can be instantly accessed, consumed, and spit out! With this in mind, most consumers fail to savor a piece of art, literature, or film in slow and steady bites. 

“We can access a lot of content now so why wait?” Well, darling, most of these content we are about to consume have been painstakingly made and it is by only going through them at the right pace can we appreciate everything that holds it together.

Just like food, if you swallow so fast you won’t get to savor all the layers of flavor bursting in your tounge–you’ll probably just choke. Which is why it is always important to savor any kind of content slowly but surely so you won’t miss out on the crucial pauses that reveal so much more.


A classic case of special snowflake syndrome.

I hate to say this but some people just generally want to actively dislike something just for the sake of being a devil’s advocate or a special snowflake. While not everybody does this, we can’t deny that people like these exist because they want to feel superior over others. Teehee.

Image may contain: possible text that says 'special snowflake The Special Snowflake (Also referred to as one with the "Special Snowflake Syndrome" or "SSS") is believes different and unique from everyone else because of something there are or do. This are commonly something is something many many other people are doing, E.G. Genderfluid Therian (Otherkin) etc. Special Snowflakes almost always have a superiority complex. Some Special Snowflakes are protesting at Target because they aren 't allowed to wear their costumes inside. by ClusterFuck November 24, 2015'
In case some of you have no idea what SSS is

3

The bottom line here is that one should be able to justify their dislike through critical understanding rather than just spew out the good old lazy “boredom” comment. By critically consuming content we are being mindful rather than just undermine a work of art in an offhand manner due to one’s lack of engagement. That’s quite unfair for the creators right?

This was such a cathartic post and I hope most of you find this helpful as well!

45

12 thoughts on “That Book/Film Was Just “Boring” For Me | Why You Have To Be Critical In Consuming Content Before Passing Judgment

  1. Ahh… I loved this post and I think it is really unique but all so true!! I didn’t always used to think deeply about things but as I grew up I did it more and you got so much out of thinking about all these different things, to try to picture the creative choices behind everything. I like people to explain their reasons in details and whilst some find me annoying for this, I stand by it. “What grates on my nerve is that some people just wouldn’t want to dig deeper because it’s either too much work or irrelevant.” People dismiss it and act like you are wrong for wanting to dig deeper but I like caring about all this and think they should as well!!
    I love how you touched on predictable plots (which can still be really good) and good heroes can still be great, developed characters (like Clark Kent is great in my opinion, he is a classic) !! People need to hear this!!
    Great post, I loved it !! (I loved the mention of special snowflakes as I see that too and it is annoying) !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ” I didn’t always used to think deeply about things but as I grew up I did it more and you got so much out of thinking about all these different things, to try to picture the creative choices behind everything.” AMEN. HAHAHA I actually felt this way before too but it’s actually bc of the book community that I became more critical in what I consume. THANK YOU SO MUCH AS ALWAYS FOR READING THIS SOPHIE :>

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was such an amazing post Divine!! Incredibly helpful to see how to argument a dislike when you’re at a loss of words. Definitely will be using it in the future 💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yesss 👏👏! Go offff 😂! Dislike is a strong word and it should be justified! I’ve definitely come across people who love to dislike things because they somehow think being contrary for the sake of being contrary makes them cool 😬. But, it’s so much more fun being around people who are willing to learn and take the time to consider how they feeeel!
    Also, you brought up a good point with simplicity vs. compexity! I just finished reading two mysteries, and while they had similar plots that I would call predictable lol 😅, one book felt a lot better to me because I vibed with the characters more. And yes! I agree that characters don’t need to have dark pasts to be convincing! One of my favorite book characters ever is Elend from Mistborn, and I love him because he’s the epitome of doing good because it’s just the right thing to do 🥺.
    I’m so glad you mentioned taking your time to consume media too! I’ve been trying not to rush through books, otherwise I enjoy them wayyy less 😅. Plus, you’re right, authors toil over their work for so long, the least I can do is try to like it.
    Another fantastic post, Divine 😄! Your discussions are always so thoughtful! I could also really feel how cathartic this was for you 😂.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “But, it’s so much more fun being around people who are willing to learn and take the time to consider how they feeeel!” EXACTLY?? I haven’t read Mistborn yett hhhnnnggrrr but Elend sounds like a great character! Actually, that part was inspired by Raoden from Elantris by Brandon Sanderson as well HAHAHAH. We stan heroes doing the right thing uwuu.

      I don’t really mean to try to like it though but at least give constructive opinion also THANK YOU SO MUCHHHH FOR ALWAYS READING HUHUHH

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment